Monday, July 23, 2018

image Follow Us:

80th ERA Annual General Meeting

On Wednesday 25th May 2011 approximately 100 members attended the AGM at the Eastcote Community Centre.

Speakers were:-

  • Mr Nick Hurd MP – our local MP and Minister of Civil Society – He had recently had the pleasure of shaking hands with Barack Obama and hearing The Presidents’ speech in Westminster Hall.
  • The main speaker was Garry Coote – Hillingdon Corporate Fraud Manager. He gave details of the frauds that he deals with, namely benefit fraud, blue badge fraud, sub-letting both council and housing associations, single person discount and many others. He went to say that most of the investigation were brought to their attention by people ringing the Hot Line – he asks that if a fraud is suspected that you ring the HOT LINE 0800 389 8313 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - all reports will be treated in the strictest confidence and can be given anonymously. This was followed by a short question and answer session and he handed out pamphlets to everyone present.
  • Carys Walker –Hillingdon - Community Leadership Coordinator – She gave a talk and power-point presentation on “Pride of Place” or “Proud Proud” – this is a way of getting communities to work together for the benefit of the community. Details of the various activities, designed to get everyone working together, will be advertised.


  • Chairman’s
  • Treasurer’s report -Income of £3,415.60 and expenditure of £3361.91 giving a surplus for the year of £53.69. In addition there was a surplus from the Christmas Festival of £1182.12.

Committee reports were given on:-

  • Planning
  • Police Matters
  • Transport & Road Safety
  • Christmas Fair

Elections of Officers
The following were elected:-

  • Chairman: Chris Groom
  • Vice Chairman: Ian Brooks
  • Treasurer: Roger Brown
  • Chief Road Steward: Karen Spink
  • Secretary: Irene Groom

Committee Members: Elizabeth Beggs, Ian Murray, Linda Laurie, Tom Sharkey, Carolyn Derecki, Alison Akerman, Ian Parkinson, Jackie Redrup, Keith Barnard and Gawain Cox.

Details of who does what in ERA can be found in the Who’s Who section.

For the full minutes of the AGM please see the Committee Meeting Minutes.